Canada funds satellites, instruments for observing the atmosphere of NASA


Canadian contribution ' #8211; involving two instruments and a satellite - estimated at more than $200 million, with launches scheduled for 2028 and 2031. The multi-satellite mission aims to improve extreme weather forecasting, climate modeling and monitoring disasters


In particular, Canada's element in the AOS will be the High Altitude Aerosols, Water Vapor and Clouds (HAWC) mission. In general, it consists of three devices, three satellites, which are planned to be launched in 2031.

These instruments will provide climate scientists with data to more accurately predict severe storms, floods, droughts and poor air quality. .

HAWC and AOS data will be fully available, promises the Canadian Space Agency ().

Aerosol cloud

According to CSA, the AOS mission will be a way to study the relationships between aerosols, clouds, atmospheric convection and precipitation. In particular, providing insight into the vertical structure and movement of aerosols, clouds and precipitation in the atmosphere.

Obviously, uncertainties in the representation of aerosol-cloud processes and their interaction with radiation in Earth system models are the main source of uncertainty in climate change forecasts.

"Satellites give us a valuable picture of the Earth; from space we can observe and monitor weather and climate change,” Stephen Guilbeau, Canada's Minister of Environment and Climate Change.

"The instruments that Canada is providing for this mission will make measurements important to understanding weather and climate change, while providing data that will be used by our meteorologists and scientists to improve forecasts and improve weather, air quality and climate models."

The AOS team includes – in addition to CSA and NASA – JAXA (Japan), CNES (France) and DLR (Germany).

The consortium of Canadian universities partnering with HAWC includes 13 universities across the country: University of Saskatchewan, University of Toronto, University of Quebec at Montreal, McGill University, University of New Brunswick, University of Sherbrooke, University of Waterloo, Wilfrid Laurier University, St. Francis Xavier University , St Mary's University, Victoria University, Western University and Dalhousie University.


See also:




enter your comment!
enter your name here